Author Topic: Playing Midis  (Read 1337 times)

88nateatx

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 59
  • Karma: +2/-7
  • Doesn't give a damn about his bad reputation.
    • View Profile
Playing Midis
« on: October 30, 2011, 03:23:26 am »
Do you think it would be possible to play Midis on a server?
Been digging around for some Wolf3D and Doom Midis ;)


Thijn

  • Tester
  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 531
  • Karma: +27/-16
    • View Profile
Re: Playing Midis
« Reply #1 on: October 30, 2011, 03:26:05 pm »
You can always convert them to mp3...

88nateatx

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 59
  • Karma: +2/-7
  • Doesn't give a damn about his bad reputation.
    • View Profile
Re: Playing Midis
« Reply #2 on: October 30, 2011, 03:41:09 pm »
Every converter i used did a poor job  :-\
And midis are waaaaaaay smaller, which means less waiting for whoever wants to join.
« Last Edit: October 30, 2011, 03:54:11 pm by 88nateatx »


stormeus

  • No-Lifer
  • Developer
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 112
  • Karma: +13/-2
    • View Profile
Re: Playing Midis
« Reply #3 on: October 30, 2011, 06:24:37 pm »
It helps to lower the bitrate of MP3s to compress them. I was able to compress a 50 second loop down to 285KB @ 48kbps without absurdly noticeable quality loss.
Quote
Morphine says:
    them LU devs ranting about how LU doesn't have client pickups
    while us VC:MPers don't have client anything
    ;_;

Stormeus Argo says:
    we have client crashes though
    ohohohohoho

Morphine says:
    LU DOESN'T HAVE THAT

Stormeus Argo says:
    LU - 0
    VC:MP - 1

88nateatx

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 59
  • Karma: +2/-7
  • Doesn't give a damn about his bad reputation.
    • View Profile
Re: Playing Midis
« Reply #4 on: October 30, 2011, 08:23:03 pm »
I guess we could do that too, but wouldnt it be better to avoid all that trouble and have better quality by just supporting Midis in the first place?  ???


Juppi

  • Developer
  • Jr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 86
  • Karma: +3/-1
    • View Profile
    • Kuslahden alaste GTA:MP clan
Re: Playing Midis
« Reply #5 on: October 30, 2011, 10:42:08 pm »
Due to the way sounds are done in LU you can only play sound formats supported by GTA3 itself, and it is unlikely that support for any other formats will be added in the future.

Bob

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 69
  • Karma: +4/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Playing Midis
« Reply #6 on: November 03, 2011, 03:19:26 am »
MIDI is not a very good format to use as far as I'm concerned, supported or otherwise. Try WAV or MP3. If you are having trouble converting them to good quality audio at a small file rate, I can help you if you want to send me the files. I often have to battle with sounds and video when converting them for software projects or modding with other games that are strict with file size.  :P

 

© Liberty Unleashed Team.