Author Topic: New Graphics -- New Staff Member  (Read 5592 times)

Savage_Axe

• View Profile
New Graphics -- New Staff Member
« on: January 16, 2008, 12:33:49 am »
Hello all :)

As you've probably read by now, i have been introduced as a new staff member of Liberty Unleashed. As my kind of "introductory" present, i give to you a screenshot  showcasing some of the new graphical abilities of LU.

Me and VRocker agreed to re-design the core from scratch, with a completely new system. My job mainly is to be in charge of all the system/graphical/utility functionality while VRocker focuses on the game disassembling/hacking, netcode etc.

My job focuses mainly in my most experienced area. I have a lot of experience programming game engines so it would make sense for me to program most of the utility and system classes, which gives VRocker the time he needs to focus on the more important GTA disassembling...

The screenshot i present to you showcases some of the graphical features i've already programmed into our new core. These features are:

• Bitmap image fonts. - For fancy image fonts.
  • Bitmap truetype fonts. - For chat/info/display fonts.
  • Sprite interface. - With ability to load/manipulate images and place them in either the 3d world or 2d screenspace.

The sprite interface also supports sprite sheets, alpha-channels, colour overlays and scaling.

The font classes have a real-time hex code colour feature, which basically enables you to colour certain parts of a sentence in a certain colour. For example, the strings on the following image were scripted like so:

Code: [Select]
[ff0000]This [ffff00]is [00ff00]a [00ffff]scary[d] bitmap image font!